Death of the Dinner Table

October 27, 2009 § 4 Comments

n11826907_38449022_1438

This is a typical dinner at our house, except we just have one little dog sitting in our face waiting for food to drop out of our mouth. My friend posted this photo on Facebook recently (sorry Lauren). People commented on it saying they were glad they weren’t the only ones that ate dinner on the couch.

eat2A better representation of a dinner at our house.

This got me thinking, do people still eat dinner at the table? For special occasions and holidays sure, but just on a regular night? We used to when we were kids, but when we moved into a bigger house dinner became parents eating in the living room and Karen and I eating dinner on the floor in front of the TV upstairs – usually a Disney movie was playing. I wonder why things have changed. I mean it’s relatively the same food being eaten, now it’s just on a couch instead of at a table. Well I take that back, if you’re at our house about half of your dinners would consist of something sandwich-related, which doesn’t really call for a dinner table. Maybe it’s because we don’t have kids. Two people sitting at the dinner table seems sort of  formal. We do it at restaurants all the time though. So why don’t we eat at the table? Are we just so bored with each other that we need the TV to avoid having to actually interact? Maybe. Reminds me of this skit from SNL:

http://www.hulu.com/embed/toxyJf3aDaGrsDeWRhTQJQ

What do you guys think?

§ 4 Responses to Death of the Dinner Table

  • Edd says:

    At my parents house, we always eat dinner at the dinner table. Its not fancy with formal place settings and tablecloths, but its good family time. When I have kids we will eat at our table as soon as they are old enough to get off the boob.

  • KarenNYC says:

    I eat dinner at my desk at work, booooooooo. It was kind of odd how we would eat on separate floors as kids though. We’d literally grab our food from the kitchen, yell a quick thanks mom, and then haul ass upstairs….to sit on the floor, usually on top of beach towels. Weird.

  • Lauren says:

    Thanks for the shout out! Again you can see when I get home from work what my attire consists of.

  • Shannon says:

    I almost always eat dinner at the table… by myself. No TV, no radio. Just me, quietly eating my yam fries. Is this weird?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Death of the Dinner Table at .

meta

