Extreme Makeover: Kitchen

August 9, 2010 § 3 Comments

Jeff and I spent the past weekend painting our apartment. We I was so excited to finally be able to start making this place all homey! We’re slowly tackling each room bit by bit and it’s really starting to come together. My big project for the weekend: The Kitchen. We have a pretty plain, white kitchen with nothing too extraordinary about it. See below.

See what I mean? A pretty standard, NYC apartment kitchen. So, of course I was dying to do something fun with it. My wheels started turning in my head and they immediately landed on an idea to paint the far wall with black chalkboard paint. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to use chalkboard paint somewhere and by golly, I finally figured out a way to convince the hubsters to buy me some 🙂 So, off we skipped hand in hand went to the paint store, picked up a 1/2 gallon of my paint, bought some chalk and then I set to work!

Voila!

But then there was the task of figuring out what the heck I was going to draw on this chalkboard wall. I had all these big ideas of what to draw and how I was going to theme it, but then I realized that I’m not exactly as talented as my sister and I ended up searching “chalk drawings” on Google Images for design inspiration. What resulted was a free hand interpretation of one of those stick on wall murals you see at Target. So, here ya have it! It’s not perfect, but I’m pretty happy with it 🙂

Inspiration

My New Kitchen!

I think Martha would be proud 🙂

§ 3 Responses to Extreme Makeover: Kitchen

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Extreme Makeover: Kitchen at .

meta

