Thought for Food

August 22, 2010 § 7 Comments

Wanna never eat again? Watch Food Inc. I did last night and  am about this close to stripping naked and joining PETA. I’ve just finished reading every label on my food in the house and now think the only way to eat healthily and safely is to grow my own food in my backyard on my roof deck, or find the extra dough to be able to shop at a farmer’s market every week. I’m not kidding about this. Okay maybe a little – I won’t be growing my own food, or stripping nude – yet. But this is just like the time I read Fast Food Nation. I stopped eating fast food. Kaputz. Zip. None. Except In N Out and they don’t count b/c 1.) it’s mentioned specifically in the book as one of the good guys and 2.) they use all local and naturally grown/raised food. Plus it’s just delicious.

Anyway, as I was saying, I’ve looked at all the food labels in my apartment including the unopened bag of sour cream and onion Lays I just bought before the movie and basically everything has some sort of MSG in it! You always hear about MSG in Chinese food but it’s actually in everything. Visit here to read about all hidden names it has. What is it? Basically it’s a food enhancer. It makes your food taste better making you want to keep eating it again and again. You know how Lays chips say “Bet you can’t eat just one.” They’re not kidding. They’re literally sprinkling those things with MSG so you can’t put them down! And MSG is just one of the many problems we have in how our food is prepared. We’ve got to do something to stop how the food industry is run in our country. It’s really quiet alarming how screwed up the system is. Watch Food Inc. and read Fast Food Nation if you haven’t already. It’ll definitely change the way you look at your food and it’ll definitely make you lose your appetite.

Oh this is real, people.
“For years, theoretical sandwologists had promised that man would one day be able to preserve and enjoy a sandwich with the same technology used to store motor oil.” – Stephen Colbert

§ 7 Responses to Thought for Food

  • Lauren says:

    so true! we have really started paying attention to stuff containing high fructose corn syrup and throwing it out. Did u know too that the process they use to decaffeinate tea uses the same chemicals and process as they do when they embalm a body. We don’t eat fast food either except for chic filet:) We used to eat Burger King but they have trans fat in their burgers. And trans fat is in ALL store bought cake icings, so we now do homemade.
    We really are killing ourselves with these chemicals the crap companies but in our food. it is worth the extra $$$ to buy organic

  • Lauren says:

    btw decaf coffee goes through the same process!!!

  • Edd says:

    How did you watch Food, Inc? the website says it doesnt come out on DVD until Nov 3rd.

  • Lexi says:

    I watched Food, Inc. this past spring as well. I’ve also watched King Corn (if you have netflix you can watch it on demand) which is equally scary. I’m reading “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan and have issued myself a Clean Eating challenge. (No sugar, No white flour, No processed food, Nothing with more than 5 ingredients etc.) I’ve been blogging about it, and this website should be interesting too: http://www.100daysofrealfood.com

    • AnnamalSF says:

      Yes! I read about the 100 day challenge. That sounds like a really good idea. I also want to read In Defense of Food. I fear if I do though, I really will quit everything and move to some eco-village.

  • rtm says:

    Edd, it’s on Netflix. Came in the mail last week.

  • Edd says:

    Dang, I just cancelled our Netflix account this weekend because DVDs would come and sit on our shelf for 2 months at a time. Nothing like a $30 movie rental!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thought for Food at .

meta

